National Eagle Scout Association Awards and Recognition

The National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) is a fellowship of men who have achieved the Eagle Scout rank.  Only those who have been granted the Eagle Scout Award by, and who are members in good standing with, the Boy Scouts of America may hold membership in the National Eagle Scout Association. Applications for NESA membership (separate from our council ESAA organization) may be found here.

NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is a prestigious recognition granted by the local council’s NESA committee to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. Unlike the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, which is a national award, the NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have made a positive impact closer to home.  This award is administered by the ESAA and traditionally awarded at the annual Gathering of the Eagles dinner in October of each year.
NOESA Recipient Board of Review Inducted
Will Hage 02/01/1991 2020
Paul Honeycutt 02/19/1970 2020
Dennis Pate 10/02/1968 2020
John Shotwell 05/01/1985 2020
Jeff Tyler 02/01/1960 2020
Bruce Doole 11/24/1980 2019
Ryan Kelley 01/08/1985 2019
Paul McNamara 03/26/1968 2019
Joseph Minner 02/22/1968 2019
Jacques Naviaux 04/04/1984 2019
George Weir 09/22/1972 2019
Steve Breen 08/20/1984 2018
Robert Brock 10/21/1998 2018
William Nelson 02/20/1973 2018
E. Royce Williams 04/01/1941 2018
Greg Billington 6/2/2007 2017
Colin Parent 12/8/1998 2017
Dr. Bryon Solberg 11/26/1978 2017
TJ Zane 08/07/1990 2017
Don Brock 05/08/1957 2016
Martin Judge 11/28/1951 2016
Aaron Linsdau 01/14/1992 2016
Don Dewolf 10/06/1969 2012
Jack R. Filanç 06/06/1941 2012
Dr. Ernest F. Latham 09/11/1942 2012
John D. Mead 05/09/1972 2012
Dr. Doug Arbon 08/12/1958 2013
Hon. Jeff Bostwick 06/05/1968 2013
William Elliott 05/05/1953 2013
Dr. Richard Kelly 02/26/1964 2013
Mike Philbrook 06/27/1979 2013
Don Beaumont 5/19/1971 2014
Daniel T. Mazzella 5/20/1968 2014
Dale J. Long 4/10/1967 2014
Harry Harrison 2/21/1991 2014
Thomas Stahl 12/19/1969 2014
James Brock 6/10/1959 2015
Mark Filanç 3/6/1973 2015
Tim Malaney 5/24/1979 2015

Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams
National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award

In 2009, the National Eagle Scout Association established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes the Scout for his Eagle Scout leadership service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each year, local councils select a council-level winner, and from that pool, each region selects a region-level winner. A national winner is then selected from the four regional finalists.
Recipient Unit Recognition Level Year Project
Joshua Lintner Troop 784 Council 2020 Milkweed for Monarchs Greenhouse at Calavera Hills Middle School.
Nathan Lee Troop 346 Council 2019 Constructed a 30 foot equestrian bridge on the Sea to Mountain trail
Zachary Williams Troop 617 Western Region 2018 Built a K9 training center at a CHP station in honor of his father.
Evan Wright Troop 774 Western Region 2017 Built inexpensive prosthetic hands for children
Gabe Krut Troop 713 Council 2016 Developed a theater summer camp for children at The Family Recovery center
Shane Uribe Troop 324 National 2015 Sports bags with personal supplies for foster children in San Diego
Ramon Solis Troop 750 Western Region 2014 Purple Heart Memorial Project, Walnut Grove Park, San Marcos
Yash Huigol Troop 667 Council 2013 The Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve Virtual Trails Project
Dillon M. Patel Troop 765 Council 2012 Canyon Crest Academy Native Plant Garden

NESA Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Association upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts.
DESA Recipient Board of Review Inducted
Victor Vincent Veysey 08/30/1929 1970
Joseph W. Williams Jr. 01/10/1930 1973
Philip Monroe Klauber 09/16/1930 1974
John William Witt 06/00/1949 1975
William T. Low 08/09/1935 1977
Clark Brower George 06/15/1931 1978
Constantine A. Karaberis 04/22/1927 1979
Gordon B. Cologne 04/07/1941 1981
Alpha L. Bowser 11/23/1925 1982
Daniel W. Derbes 02/18/1946 1983
Charles John Merdinger 04/25/1933 1984
Lincoln R. Ward 02/08/1940 1985
C. Hugh Friedman 10/26/1945 1986
Richard A. Shaw 07/09/1952 1988
Motoharu Asakawa 06/26/1935 1990
Robert C. Coates 09/06/1956 1991
Daniel J. Tobin 10/10/1953 1992
Ronald H. Kendrick 06/22/1954 1993
Donald Hamilton Estes 11/30/1953 1994
J. Scofield Hage 01/18/1961 1995
Stephen Leslie Bowen 03/22/1962 2008
Thomas Parker Emery 02/02/1942 2010
Charles Greg Deering 06/20/1968 2011
John Thornton 1949 2014