National Eagle Scout Association Awards and Recognition

The National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) is a fellowship of men who have achieved the Eagle Scout rank.  Only those who have been granted the Eagle Scout Award by, and who are members in good standing with, the Boy Scouts of America may hold membership in the National Eagle Scout Association. Applications for NESA membership (separate from our council ESAA organization) may be found here.

NESA Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Association upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts.
DESA RecipientBoard of ReviewInducted
Victor Vincent Veysey08/30/19291970
Joseph W. Williams Jr.01/10/19301973
Philip Monroe Klauber09/16/19301974
John William Witt06/00/19491975
William T. Low08/09/19351977
Clark Brower George06/15/19311978
Constantine A. Karaberis04/22/19271979
Gordon B. Cologne04/07/19411981
Alpha L. Bowser11/23/19251982
Daniel W. Derbes02/18/19461983
Charles John Merdinger04/25/19331984
Lincoln R. Ward02/08/19401985
C. Hugh Friedman10/26/19451986
Richard A. Shaw07/09/19521988
Motoharu Asakawa06/26/19351990
Robert C. Coates09/06/19561991
Daniel J. Tobin10/10/19531992
Ronald H. Kendrick06/22/19541993
Donald Hamilton Estes11/30/19531994
J. Scofield Hage01/18/19611995
Stephen Leslie Bowen03/22/19622008
Thomas Parker Emery02/02/19422010
Charles Greg Deering06/20/19682011
John Thornton19492014

NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is a prestigious recognition granted by the local council’s NESA committee to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. Unlike the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, which is a national award, the NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have made a positive impact closer to home.  This award is administered by the ESAA and traditionally awarded at the annual Gathering of the Eagles dinner in October of each year.
NOESA RecipientBoard of ReviewInducted
Greg Billington 6/2/20072017
Colin Parent 12/8/19982017
Dr. Bryon Solberg 11/26/1978 2017
TJ Zane 08/07/19902017
Don Brock05/08/19572016
Martin Judge11/28/19512016
Aaron Linsdau01/14/19922016
Don Dewolf10/06/19692012
Jack R. Filanç06/06/19412012
Dr. Ernest F. Latham09/11/19422012
John D. Mead05/09/19722012
Dr. Doug Arbon08/12/19582013
Hon. Jeff Bostwick06/05/19682013
William Elliott05/05/19532013
Dr. Richard Kelly02/26/19642013
Mike Philbrook06/27/19792013
Don Beaumont5/19/19712014
Daniel T. Mazzella5/20/19682014
Dale J. Long4/10/19672014
Harry Harrison2/21/19912014
Thomas Stahl12/19/19692014
James Brock6/10/19592015
Mark Filanç3/6/19732015
Tim Malaney5/24/19792015

Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams
National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award

In 2009, the National Eagle Scout Association established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes the Scout for his Eagle Scout leadership service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each year, local councils select a council-level winner, and from that pool, each region selects a region-level winner. A national winner is then selected from the four regional finalists.
RecipientUnitRecognition LevelYearProject
Zachary Williams Troop 617 Western Region 2018 Built a K9 training center at a CHP station in honor of his father.
Evan WrightTroop 774 Western Region 2017Built inexpensive prosthetic hands for children
Gabe KrutTroop 713Council2016Developed a theater summer camp for children at The Family Recovery center
Shane UribeTroop 324National2015Sports bags with personal supplies for foster children in San Diego
Ramon SolisTroop 750Western Region2014Purple Heart Memorial Project, Walnut Grove Park, San Marcos
Yash HuigolTroop 667Council2013The Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve Virtual Trails Project
Dillon M. PatelTroop 765Council2012Canyon Crest Academy Native Plant Garden